Dark

Reviewing High(er) End Kitchen Gadgets Vol.3 | SORTEDfood 

Subscribe
Views 513K
99% 5 079 46

Get ready because you’re in for a treat! Our Chef, Ebbers has loosened the purse strings and splashed the cash on a selection of higher-end kitchen gadgets, including the MUCH-REQUESTED Bartesian Machine! Have a watch to see how Jamie and Barry got on with testing them.
GET A COPY OF THE ULTIMATE COOKING BATTLES BOOK HERE: bit.ly/39hi9UC
Sage by Heston, Smoking Gun: amzn.to/2QRfKK1
Beech Wood 3 Blade Cabbage Slicer: bit.ly/3dkqkAN
Bartesian Machine: bit.ly/39ozJWH
#SORTEDfood #Gadget #Chef #Sauerkraut #Cooking

Howto & Style

Published on

 

Mar 31, 2021

Share:

Link:

Download:

Loading link...

Add to:

My playlist
Watch later
Comments 100   
anfaz rahman
anfaz rahman Day ago
The first gadget is weed smoker Put some weed fire it and enjoy it
Selan Lee
Selan Lee Day ago
I would love to see if this Tipsi Tray - Single Handed Easy to Use Serving Tray actually works 😂
Keith Nadin
Keith Nadin 3 days ago
just had a brain wave for you to review it's got to be a brilliant gadget for you to test seeing ass you always seem to have trouble with yours..... try reviewing potato peelers!!!!!!
William MacDonald
James?
Rosanne Derrett
Rosanne Derrett 5 days ago
I'd love the beechwood slicer, not just for sauerkraut but also cabbage kimchi and for the cabbagy bit of okonomiyaki
H B
H B 5 days ago
That is not a "Bratwurst" it is a sausage which resembles a Bratwurst. The sausage looks way to dry, plus it´s a fine cut sausage. The meat of a real Bratwurst is supposed to be minced more coarse. Bis zum nächsten Video. Tschüss Jungs.
Jeki13
Jeki13 7 days ago
Have you guys ever reviewed a rice cooker?
Rhewin
Rhewin 7 days ago
I very much like this newer intro. A lot more stylish and less annoying when binging.
jammernoc
jammernoc 7 days ago
Soooo could you put herb in the smoking gun ?
khuang96
khuang96 8 days ago
Kinda miss the puns, unexpectedly haha
snakehulk21220
snakehulk21220 8 days ago
"im not sure if its in the cream or on the cream" perhaps mixing it before going full cat and sticking your face in the bowl would have been a thought
I lick the insides of microwave popcorn packages
I may be just overly negative here and influenced by the fact that I usually prefer the base ingredients straight up, but I find the cocktail mixer extremely stupid, mostly for the fact that you have to use the capsules. That's terrible from both the perspective of the consumer as well as the environment. Syrups are several times cheaper than the capsules so it's still better to buy those if you just want to try out a bunch of cocktails at home. The biggest pain in the ass (where some convenience would actually be useful) generally tend to be mojito variations where you just impulsively decide to have a whole bunch but have to go buy mint because your plant died again and you end up buying ice cream as well as potato chips and other junk food, thinking you're going to watch a movie. You remember ice cream goes well with Malibu so you get that but you also get some cream just in case and then you go back to the alcohol section to get more white rum because the mint box is way too large for what you have at home. Later you find yourself watching youtube at 4AM with most of the alcohol gone and the movie unwatched. The point is, this machine won't mojito, let alone any variations of it. Anything with milk or cream is also a no go. The machine makes some of the most simple cocktails that can be mixed in less than two minutes no matter how drunk you are at the moment.
Pete's Shredder.
Pete's Shredder. 10 days ago
Have a look at the anova oven. Steam combi oven for the home. First units arrive in the uk this week (including mine :-D) after months of waiting
Adin Silajdzija
Adin Silajdzija 11 days ago
"Smoke 'anything'"? OK!!!
Solanari
Solanari 11 days ago
i think for pod alcohol machines the one by drinkworks is so much better because the one in the video you still have to get your own alcohol so what is the point? What i would want out of such a machine is the convenience and that means everything in the pod and just have a water reservoir so that I don't have to have an alcohol cabinet (www.drinkworks.com/product/the-drinkmaker)
Gibby Hart
Gibby Hart 12 days ago
Have that exact whiskey! It's spectacular!
SORTEDfood
SORTEDfood 11 days ago
It's so good!
ShuHao
ShuHao 12 days ago
what does the last gadget even do? it's seems so fucking useless 💀
Maria Tykhonova
Maria Tykhonova 12 days ago
So now you have this cabbage slicer you should definitely try cooking traditional Ukrainian borsch! :)
Benjamin Hanna
Benjamin Hanna 12 days ago
wouldnt pay more than 120 quid for that cocktail maker
djdsf
djdsf 12 days ago
The last one looks good, but these damn auto drink makers cost so much and end up tasting "passable" at best. Kuerig makes one that actually has the alcohol included, but Instill can't get over the $8 per glass price when it's would be the same or cheaper at the bar and I would not have to pay for the machine to make it to being with.
exonwarrior
exonwarrior 12 days ago
The smoke gun seems great and I'd definitely use it. But the drinks machine is a big no-thank-you from me. Making a wide variety of drinks is really not that hard. Not even counting alcohol (as the 300pounds quoted in the video doesn't either), all of my tools, syrups, juices and garnishes were a fraction of that cost. Plus once the company stops making the pods you are SOL.
Nova Fernandez
Nova Fernandez 13 days ago
Only the smoking gun caught my eye, though I just got my new pampered chef mandolin - OMG! I love this thing so much - its not a traditional design because you move the blade rather than the food and its SO much safer! It has a chute you put the food in, and I guess a plunger is the best word for it (?) that you unlock and extend to push back down and that moves the blade to cut the food in the chute, of course there is a guard/pusher for the chute so everything gets cut even.
Denise Ho
Denise Ho 13 days ago
$300 quid would buy you a lot of alcohol to make those cocktails and more
WalkIntoMyFace
WalkIntoMyFace 13 days ago
The smoking gun is really good. I find it better if you smoke it twice but leave overnight (if applicable) on the second smoking.
tanzeen ahmed
tanzeen ahmed 13 days ago
I have a grand idea for the smoker machine.
khaxjc1
khaxjc1 14 days ago
Hope anyone seeing this has a good day and thanks to the team for the vid.
oropher777
oropher777 14 days ago
That drinks Keurig offends my sensibilities .... same as a coffee Keurig. Seems quite wasteful.
Carlos Draws
Carlos Draws 14 days ago
Watching this video is like window shopping for my future kitchen.
Kevinthemindful
Kevinthemindful 14 days ago
Please tweak brightness or remove the pink light from behind Mike and Ben.
z3r0t0l3r4ns
z3r0t0l3r4ns 14 days ago
The trouble with fancy mandolins is that none of them do the job BETTER than a benny, and if you're not confident enough to use a benny then you probably shouldn't be using a mandoline.
Symbro
Symbro 14 days ago
"gift for a 21st birthday" wait, is that the legal drinking age there? I thought it was 16
Amelia T.
Amelia T. 12 days ago
18 i believe
Mary Joy Spohrer
Mary Joy Spohrer 14 days ago
I can't see myself getting any of these lot of items.
vampjoseph11
vampjoseph11 14 days ago
The Bartesian Machine: The Keurig/Tassimo for alcoholics
FloorBank
FloorBank 14 days ago
Way too many puns in one video, love it.
Gerbrand Steyn
Gerbrand Steyn 14 days ago
Ben seemed - sad ?
Virgínia Lijarcio
Virgínia Lijarcio 14 days ago
Can you guys review the Almond Cow, please?
Irudium1
Irudium1 14 days ago
This is great for smoking pot !
Kriste Isopahkala
Kriste Isopahkala 15 days ago
That coctail machine is definitely something that belongs in an Archer episode.
tapeshaft
tapeshaft 15 days ago
Honestly, I want to like that cocktail thingy, but my gut is telling me it's garbage.
Hannu Ala-Olla
Hannu Ala-Olla 15 days ago
What if the cheese is what you make the smoke with, not what you flavor with the smoke?
Ray y G
Ray y G 15 days ago
"you can pretty much Smoke anything.." Jamie smirks. Same!
Bald Zeus
Bald Zeus 15 days ago
I've considered the smoke gun for cocktails
Aisha Zeben
Aisha Zeben 15 days ago
Wondering why they didn't try other things with the mandolin? It can be used for so much more than sauerkraut
SvMaverick91
SvMaverick91 15 days ago
The last product i didn't like. If you want expensive cocktails - go to a bar (i know,i know, pandemic at the moment). If you like quality cocktails - learn how to make them at home. Also,for 300$ , you can stack up on so much decent bottles of alcohol and you will be way better off.
Wollowa
Wollowa 15 days ago
i feel like ben would just be a great dad
bloemundude
bloemundude 15 days ago
I wonder what could be done by bubbling smoke through a liquid (cream or melted butter before sautéing mushrooms and onions). Smoky ghee sounds worth trying.
Jay B
Jay B 15 days ago
.... as a bartender. Just learn the recipe. Of all the complicated 6 ingredient cocktails I could choose. U chose old fashioned and cosmopolitan. They are literally the cocktails You can make so show off ur balance of ingredients. That’s what makes them good. 🤦🏻‍♂️🤦🏻‍♂️
TheOHNOESITSSCOTTY
TheOHNOESITSSCOTTY 16 days ago
Can we see a thermomix review please!
Thomas Schmidt
Thomas Schmidt 16 days ago
The cocktail maker is tops, but I cannot justify the price point. Perhaps 1/3 less than its current would be easier to swallow
Alexandra M.
Alexandra M. 16 days ago
Sage gun is now 45 quid onAmazon.
Edward Hodge
Edward Hodge 16 days ago
You guys are killing it!
Abey
Abey 16 days ago
Papa Joshua would be really happy with the first one ☝️
Starlightthedark
Starlightthedark 16 days ago
Ohh, get that smoker and up grade cheap smoked salmon into fancy smoked salmon.
Alvino veritas
Alvino veritas 16 days ago
Am I the only one to think of a second kind of use for the smoke machine ?
vilmos1584
vilmos1584 16 days ago
Jamie : here, have a jug of cream Barry: *_scallpoie dü'mon pepeaux_*
STC Suntzucreed
STC Suntzucreed 16 days ago
How valuable is the pound to the british? Because 300 pounds sounds cheap to me for that type of gadget
Zoe
Zoe 16 days ago
You can buy a passable espresso machine for the price of that cocktail making piece of crap.
Alethea Lenning
Alethea Lenning 16 days ago
I am totally buying the cocktail maker!
nadim obeid
nadim obeid 16 days ago
The cabbage cutter really made me think how deferent cultures are, in the Balkan area that thing is a common house item and good wooden one would cost less than 10e. Also you could make fresh cabbage salad with it as well as slice anything you need not just cabbage.
Gobsnachaz
Gobsnachaz 16 days ago
What if you did a pass it on, but in addition to the regular video, you released footage of the whole thing in real time. Like an hour long video!
David Peveto
David Peveto 16 days ago
I have a real problem with that cocktail thing. It's huge and takes up counter space but also doesn't actually do anything. I suppose it measures out a pour of your main spirit, but it's just taking a cocktail mix in a pod, shooting into a mixing vessel or glass. You could get the exact same result with an auto-stop pouring tip and a knife to cut open the pod for hundreds of pounds less. It's not mixing, diluting, stirring, chilling or any of the actual challenging or time consuming things that come with making a drink.
Marcus Baker
Marcus Baker 17 days ago
The cocktail machine is far and away not worth the money. Most of the cocktails people would be making at home are simple enough to not need a machine for their creation; for example, a Cosmo is 4 ingredients: vodka, lime juice, triple sec, and cranberry juice. That cosmo was so heavy on the cran when it should be more of a light pink because it's already gonna be tart thanks to the combo of cran and lime juice, so to go that heavy on the cran is just too much. Simple cocktails don't take too long to make nor are they worth losing the personal touch of how the consumer enjoys them.
blackmanpacman
blackmanpacman 17 days ago
We bartenders have been using smoking guns for literally years
Lisa Hoeppner
Lisa Hoeppner 17 days ago
Jamies reaction to you can pretty much smoke anything 😳 but it's gonna be cold smoke😆.
makido1234
makido1234 17 days ago
It's common in Japan to serve shredded lettus with deep fried foods so they should sell that cabbage shredder there.
Monique Astl
Monique Astl 17 days ago
Would love to see the chefs play around with the Sage, Smoking Gun on different food using different ‘burnables’. Like what type of dried teas are good, and what they’d be used for. Barry said you could use hay and I am supper excited to find out what smoked hay goes well with. The use of hay for flavor is something I’ve never hear of before.
Lazy-ish ViolaCook
Lazy-ish ViolaCook 17 days ago
I just want more of the plug song. "Pluggy plug plug plug plug plug-plug WOW!"
Justikki Smith
Justikki Smith 17 days ago
Forget a specialized cabbage shredder, you can get wafer thin shreds with a food processor’s slicer attachment and also get all the useful benefits of a food processor too.
nichtLachen
nichtLachen 17 days ago
The drink dispenser thingy is useless. like i dont want to spend 300quid on a machine that makes me drinks that i can simply make on my own with simple recipes that i can find all over the internet.
nichtLachen
nichtLachen 17 days ago
You normally also put carrots (diced or sliced) in the Sauerkraut and some people also put smoked ham in it. it's freaking delicious
William Saykao
William Saykao 17 days ago
I haven't watched anything on this channel in a long time, but I can see that Ben is noticeably thinner, not like he was ever overweight fat. However, good on you Ben. Loved the episode.
Nagelfar
Nagelfar 17 days ago
I quite like the cabbage mandolin.
Micky P
Micky P 17 days ago
Is it just me or does it look like Ebbers has lost weight? 🤔
Rach Hedge
Rach Hedge 17 days ago
The bar machine would have been great at the beginning of COVID if we knew it would last over a year. It replaces going to a bar.
Sam W
Sam W 17 days ago
For £300 you can solve the problem by buying all your favourite cocktail ingredients, a place to store them, and a simple set of bar tools
Willow Davidson
Willow Davidson 17 days ago
Love these. Check out the Levo Infusion Machine for your next round of gadge.
bustednebs
bustednebs 17 days ago
That yellow light on the left keep making think there's a random pineapple slice
Aaron Stroud
Aaron Stroud 17 days ago
I have a smoking gun.. pretty fun to use. I’ve made smoked salted Carmel ice cream.
Franscois 77
Franscois 77 17 days ago
The bar machine is so ridiculously stupid. And what's with "cool" gadgets that make so much plastic waste. Like a middle finger to the planet. But it's cool right. Would be nice if you guys had some gadgets or a series of gadgets that's environmentally friendly.
Martin Jacobsson
Martin Jacobsson 17 days ago
Now one is useful.
01 Achmad Rifan Hidayat
smoke weed
Kathy Erickson
Kathy Erickson 18 days ago
These were some fun gadgets...with the exception of the specialty mandolin. (Too Ben specific...although cheers to Ben for slicing his own cabbage!) The cocktail machine was really neat, but anything coming out of a flavor pod is already a handicap in terms of flavor.
Ragmatical Rachel
Ragmatical Rachel 18 days ago
I use a plastic version of the cabbage cutter for pretty much all slicing i do.
janedagger
janedagger 18 days ago
I bet they all violate Alton's rules... must be multi-functional or else they ain't shit... well, who cares what the rich use? I don't, long as it poisons them slowly :)
Windy Hawthorn
Windy Hawthorn 18 days ago
Seeing someone make sauerkraut is always interesting. I have only made it by the barrel full. Tight Layers of kraut and salt with a cloth over the top then a wood press with a big rock and ring it close with a sheet of plastic and wash the top of the kraut every week to remove the white yeast with a clean cloth and water and just wait and it ferments and becomes sauerkraut. Now fermented coleslaw is faster and I think might be what some folks are making in a week.
Ashley Marie
Ashley Marie 18 days ago
Jamie’s smokers cough was too natural 👀😂😂
Eva O
Eva O 18 days ago
I mean this lovingly bc I 💜 Ebbers either way but he's for sure lost some lbs so looking good Ebbers! Congrats :)
Claire Campbell - Hey Blondie!
Re: Smoking Gun, I’ve found that almost always, it’s more the smoke that billows out that I’m tasting vs smoke penetrating the food itself. 🤷‍♀️ idk that it’s worth it for me hahah
darknessblade
darknessblade 18 days ago
making sauerkraut Every japanese in the chat, NAY mate okonomiyaki is the way to go
Charlie Donaldson
Charlie Donaldson 18 days ago
Out of my 7 rums bottles I use 4 for drinks. Don't even start me on tequilas. With 520$ CAD ( ~ 300£ ) you can get the materials to build a bar in your house, get second hand mini-fridge + ice machine, all the basic barware+glassware and STILL afford more than 4 damn bottles of basic alcohol. This is ridiculous.
SkeletronPrime655
SkeletronPrime655 18 days ago
I feel like a fun battle idea would be where both the J's (James and Jamie) and both the B's (Ben and Barry) have to team up together to try and beat the other team, with Mike getting to be the judge because he's the only one who doesn't share the starting letter of his name with any of the others.
Sage Moonchild
Sage Moonchild 18 days ago
I've had my eye on that bartesian for a hot minute. The fact that you guys reviewed it, makes me want it even more.
kalefarmerful
kalefarmerful 18 days ago
nope to the smoky thing nope nope I think the sauerkraut mandolin would make Amazing vegetable crisps
Littlekelt95
Littlekelt95 18 days ago
How would the long island iced tea one work though? That's typically at least 4(?) liquors, unless they ask you to add 1 and have the rest within the capsule although that sounds counter-intuitive?
WantedVisuals
WantedVisuals 18 days ago
If I were willing to miss it for a few weeks, I'd lend you guys my new 'seventeen different functions and a light show' rice cooker (Sorry, the Reishunger 1.5 liter digital PREMIUM rice cooker) and see what happens. Mostly because I have managed to make exactly three functions work, and one of them is the 'keep warm' that springs on automatically. Partially because I want to see James get really really upset over how much space can be taken up by a thing that is mostly there to do rice. Also, several of the normals might be into the space-shippiness of it all.
Peter Gillon
Peter Gillon 18 days ago
Enjoyed the Vid. I've had several mandolines, and I used a plastic Famous V , which is good ( and safe) and flexable. Don't need one just for cabbage. Cocktail maker - bleurgg . only 4 spirits ? plus you have to put ina good slug in each container, and then clean em out , How often do i have cocktails - not very often. and then i make a couple fo different ones, not just 4 spirits. Have you done the all in one coffee makers ? Bean to cup
coldfrost
coldfrost 18 days ago
im sorry but who is the blonde on the cook book yall dont have a blonde in the group if its mike then i would like a petition to eactly dye his hair blonde
elariel01
elariel01 18 days ago
You can buy a premixed cocktail in a tin for between £1-£3 and it includes the actual alcohol, plus the tins are recyclable. Ok, @Sortedfood taste test tinned cocktails!
Courtney Hill
Courtney Hill 18 days ago
Mike at 4:08 looks so awkward it’s cute! Really, he looks awkward the whole video 😂
Mihhail Gotovtsev
Mihhail Gotovtsev 18 days ago
It probably would help you sell a lot more books if you mention that the recepies in them are in normal metric system, with grams and liters not cups and ounces like usual british cook books. I was hesitant to try your app, because of it.
Next
Why Spanish Is Sexist
0:38