Dark

Review: Chris Harris drives the new Porsche 911 GT3 | Top Gear 

Top Gear
Subscribe 8M
Views 1.4M
99% 13 777 135

Petrolheads, assemble: it’s a new Porsche 911 GT3. Which is basically like saying ‘it’s a new Bowie album’ to the music nerds. This is benchmark sports car, the one by which the steering feel, chassis composure and engine response of every other supposed supercar on the market is measured against. The 992 GT3 gets a racecar engine, a ginormous wing and a rather special new knob. And this is what happens when Chris Harris is tasked with running that glorious 4.0-litre flat-six engine in, just so he can open the taps and spank it around a track.
Subscribe to Top Gear for more videos: bit.ly/SubscribeToTopGear
WATCH MORE TOP GEAR:
Top Gear Series 29: bit.ly/TGS29​
Geneva Online Motor Show: bit. ly/TGGMS20​
First Look: bit.ly/TG-FirstLook
MORE ABOUT TOP GEAR:
Want to watch a bit of Top Gear on the internet? Welcome to the most comprehensive collection of official clips you'll find on US-first. Whether you're searching for a caravan challenge, Ken Block in the Hoonicorn, cars versus fighter jets, Stig power laps or the latest Chris Harris Drives, you can find all the iconic films here.
Want to share your views with the team? Join our BBC Studios Voice: www.bbcstudiosvoice.com/register
This is a commercial channel from BBC Studios.
Service & Feedback www.bbcstudios.com/contact/contact-us/

Autos & Vehicles

Published on

 

Apr 20, 2021

Share:

Link:

Download:

Loading link...

Add to:

My playlist
Watch later
Comments 100   
Chris Davies
Chris Davies 10 hours ago
14:46 - you might be able to drive home from the 'Ring if you don't bin it, but I'm guessing you might have to replace the rear tyres first. :) I reckon anyone but a bloody legend couldn't drive a GT3 all weekend at the 'ring without crashing the hell out of it. I think I have wrecked about 1.5 billion pounds worth of GT3 RSRs at the 'ring. And died about 127 times, while doing it. :)
Chris Davies
Chris Davies 10 hours ago
Yeah but it weighs 1.5 tons! How would a little all-carbon 911 body with a 2-litre turbo flat six go against this monstrosity? Say, something under 900 kilos all up, and with around 400 horses, and a red-line north of 10-grand? Because, you know what? I reckon such a car, based loosely on the 1972 RSR bodyshell, would spank this thing. And if you did that, you'd also be able to whack 20KwH of batteries in the front , add two electric motors, each with 100 BHP, and turn it into a hybrid rocketship with on-demand AWD, a sub-3-second 100km/h time, and it could also pootle around as a front-drive electric town car with about 40km of range. THAT is the 911 I dream of. It's a function of technology to make things better. And I am sorry to say it, but a 911 that weighs 1.5 tons is worse than a 911 that weighs 1-ton. Period. End of story. Lightness is efficient. Weight is the enemy. Herr Porsche would be spinning in his grave if he knew how fat and luxurious the 911 is. It does not need any of that garbage. Screw luxury. That is not what driving is about. Driving is about connecting the driver to the road in the best way possible, and the best way possible is to make your car lightweight.
Mike
Mike 12 hours ago
"It's still the Master." Maybe that is a Doctor Who reference.
ModChester
ModChester 14 hours ago
Chris Harris bringing a bit of mental health awareness into a car review. One of the reasons why he’s one of the best
Ivan Vasilev
Ivan Vasilev 15 hours ago
I never look things this way...but this time I must say it. It makes me sad that I won't be able to own or drive, or probably even see such gt3 :(( What nice car!
Amanda Robinson
Amanda Robinson 16 hours ago
More please, same recipe :)
AGR Automotive LLC
AGR Automotive LLC 17 hours ago
Do you have to change the oil after break in??
Racing Ralph
Racing Ralph 18 hours ago
Watched this video must be 5 times the whole way through. As an avid car fan, I well up every single time. These cars are the last of an era and its going to be a great great shame to no longer have them being produced. The sound, the driving enjoyment the overall experience, the way it makes you feel will be no more. Fantastic review but also an upsetting reality for all petrol heads for what's coming in the future. I'm 24 years old and dream to one day afford one of these things, unfortunately it'll all be electric when/if that day ever arrives. We all need N/A engine's and manual gear boxes in our lives!!
PROJECT DRIVEN
PROJECT DRIVEN 18 hours ago
Amazing car!
markmcc21
markmcc21 19 hours ago
Why do ppl lean or sit on cars? Esp with jeans that have studs on them. I know ur a driving god Chris but come on get off the car.
Imran Abbasi
Imran Abbasi 21 hour ago
👍💜💙
Chris huang
Chris huang 22 hours ago
Chris is back🔥🔥🔥
Tim Kretschmer
Tim Kretschmer 23 hours ago
Передачу теперь ведёт какой-то бомж
Han Wei Chee
Han Wei Chee Day ago
We heard you the first ten times Chris - there are double wishbones at the front....
mac union
mac union Day ago
the new top gear is rubbish , its pretty much over when clarkson , may and hammond left , give it up BBC its finished
glennsmooth
glennsmooth Day ago
Never been a Porche fan but now they’re starting to grow on me
Jonny D
Jonny D Day ago
Why go all electric. Thats not good
Arnold Clarke
Those jeans need carrots with the massive turnups?
bouytt guyt
bouytt guyt Day ago
Bloody good work to the lads and lasses who made this.
Nastii Boii
Nastii Boii Day ago
Just needs jcr exhaust system it’s fully complete
Agustin Lidén
Agustin Lidén 2 days ago
Omg that 2021 Hawaii 💙 colored Porsche 992 GT3 looking absolutely incredible beautiful and delicious and gorgeous and Sexy 🤤 🤤 🤤 🤤 🤤 🤤 🤤 🤤 🤤 🤤
sugoruyo
sugoruyo 2 days ago
"Nitty gritty car journalism. I LOVE it!" So do we Chris, so do we.
bouytt guyt
bouytt guyt Day ago
Si ma di quel colore non si può guardare, è un insulto alla bellezza di questa macchina.
oXe2
oXe2 2 days ago
Why? Whyyy? I don’t want to buy it and now you say two times i should buy it if i can...
Pupixario
Pupixario 2 days ago
Unless we start mining lithium from the moon or invent some revolutionary electric battery technology that uses abundant resources we won't go ALL electric any time soon
bcvbb hyui
bcvbb hyui 2 days ago
Sports car engineering has peaked. This is it. You can't go any higher than this. Thank you, Porsche.
Theodore Skreko
Theodore Skreko 2 days ago
Gorgeous automotive journalism. Thank you!
Moishe McShekelberg 9000
Are they really going to force-meme electric cars to the point we don’t see cars like the GT3 anymore? Doubtful.
Working Guy
Working Guy 2 days ago
What's it like to drive on the average pot-holed road, though?
bcvbb hyui
bcvbb hyui 2 days ago
So, it's like everyone other Porsche from the last 10 years and more removed from the raw driving experience of yesteryear.
mithritades
mithritades 2 days ago
I’m waiting for a Manual review
Osama Ayyad
Osama Ayyad 2 days ago
i will own this soonj
Cloody Tube
Cloody Tube 2 days ago
That belt disturbs my OCD
James Estrada
James Estrada 2 days ago
Chris got that Pep Guardiola vibe going
James Estrada
James Estrada 2 days ago
Just got the notification: “Chris Harris drives the new Porsche 911 GT3” - CLICK!
Carlos Panades
Carlos Panades 2 days ago
Truly a masterpiece.
Your Fan
Your Fan 2 days ago
13:46 damnnnnn that's not easy
icecreaman2010
icecreaman2010 2 days ago
I wonder if a gt2 or 911 turbo takes bumps better than the gt3. Does anyone know the answer to that question?
Giuliano Mancini
Giuliano Mancini 2 days ago
Si ma di quel colore non si può guardare, è un insulto alla bellezza di questa macchina.
CrbStomp72
CrbStomp72 2 days ago
Chris with his rolled up jeans and kicks is always so into his videos/reviews.....he's brilliant....Never get rid of that child in you! And I need to win the lotto as this car is smashing.
terence terence
terence terence 2 days ago
perfect
jjcue
jjcue 3 days ago
Your seatbelt Chris!!!!!
Hariboy
Hariboy 3 days ago
Seatbelts are driving me nuts
Daniel Daum
Daniel Daum 3 days ago
It’s actually not a flat 6 haha
Yusuf Chopdat
Yusuf Chopdat 2 days ago
Errr yes it is....
amon kril
amon kril 3 days ago
So, it's like everyone other Porsche from the last 10 years and more removed from the raw driving experience of yesteryear.
eyeamrogers
eyeamrogers 3 days ago
What a weapon! You sounded out of breath after that lap, pulling a few G 😉
joan fernandez
joan fernandez 3 days ago
Simply Porsche is the best sports car !! Of all times !!!
fuckyougoogle
fuckyougoogle 3 days ago
defeatist propaganda. might as well be saying "you will eat the bugs."
Satish Tummala
Satish Tummala 3 days ago
Chris' excitement clearly on display....picked up a brand new GT3, drove it all throughout the night and tracked it the next day......all with the same set of clothes he had on the day before...
nick ionescu de blazonick
"Music instrument"....
halleffect1
halleffect1 3 days ago
How the hell does double wishbones negate the stiffer spring rate?
FourMaxK1
FourMaxK1 3 days ago
Orgasmic!
kolim jone
kolim jone 3 days ago
"We're going to miss them when their gone."- Chris Harris. Helluva endnote by far.
TheEagles427
TheEagles427 3 days ago
Keeping it real with Chris and a GT3!
Marten Tolsma
Marten Tolsma 3 days ago
Piece of art
Gooody17
Gooody17 3 days ago
this guy needs a stylist lol
Raif Raif
Raif Raif 3 days ago
There will never be another Chris Harris
kolim jone
kolim jone 3 days ago
Agree with Chris's comment on black wheels. Let's move on from this trend.
lj
lj 3 days ago
Chris! You seem to be eating GOOD. A GOOD POWER Walk in the morning and evening will keep you in check.
Walter Ritchey
Walter Ritchey 3 days ago
Sports car engineering has peaked. This is it. You can't go any higher than this. Thank you, Porsche.
Marcus Loricchiella
I loved watching this video, but just couldn’t get past your twisted up seat belt… lol 😂
Dan The Travel Man
Who is this guy?
hoiy vinosa
hoiy vinosa 4 days ago
chris the type of guy to still wear the same jeans from high school, and we love him for it
MrGordonjames
MrGordonjames 4 days ago
My order is in Chris..! Magnificent cornering and very impressive driving..!! You have sold me.!! Wow.!! what a play machine...Pure Porsche Perfection.!! I have been fixated on getting a 2016 Lagonda Taraf for $500,000 and i think my youth has caught up with me.! ....Bring on the 911 GT3...
Super Luxury Lifestyle
OMG, Trillions like and best comment for you because you are best on Earth and follower respect you, we need videos in Real 120fps or 240fps 8K HDR10+ Dolby Vision IQ resolution clarity quality and Sound in FullHD Surrounded 3D Dolby Atmos
DroneWolf Media
DroneWolf Media 4 days ago
Always a pleasure watching Chris thrash on the latest 911. 💪
hoiy vinosa
hoiy vinosa 4 days ago
Chris Harris is the best
swansmeister
swansmeister 4 days ago
You are getting fat Chris, makes no sense now does it riding in a gt3 :p
Troy Mark
Troy Mark 4 days ago
luv it !!
Steve McRichards
Steve McRichards 4 days ago
Exhaust note is just a level below what the Le Mans spec GTE-Pro car sounds like, and that is most excellent.
RC TAZ
RC TAZ 4 days ago
Electric wont work
Kusqen
Kusqen 4 days ago
My favorite car and my favorite car reviewer, instantly clicked the video. Great video Chris
Mark Hildreth
Mark Hildreth 5 days ago
Agree with Chris's comment on black wheels. Let's move on from this trend.
Dr. DD
Dr. DD 5 days ago
"We're going to miss them when their gone."- Chris Harris. Helluva endnote by far.
m3petem3
m3petem3 5 days ago
Truly amazing car I’m just more hooked on Porsche, Henry C and Chris H would be an amazing duo.
jcpatrick mcclure
🇺🇸WWG1WGA🇺🇸 Gratitude!!!🙏🍀👍
jcpatrick mcclure
*THE BEST IS YET TO COME* " 🙏🙏 🇺🇸WWG1WGA🇺🇸 Thank U *PATRIOTS* 4 your DEDICATION 2 Love, Life, *Liberty,* *Freedom* & The *Pursuit Of Happiness!!!* 😄XRP_mo🌝n Pa$$🍀
doire aintu
doire aintu 5 days ago
Hopefully this synthetic fuel product they're working on works out, and we can continue to have mechanical engines like this long into the future.
Adam Downey
Adam Downey 5 days ago
Superb vid, supreme track machine but I would be to worried about getting it pranged or worse!
Jim Williams
Jim Williams 5 days ago
This was fantastic!
Hiden Biden
Hiden Biden 5 days ago
The might be the last time he has the opportunity, because of electrics. Sad, sad. You know I am in favor of selling/buyingthem, But only if the market demands it. I take issue with the prevalence of electric incentives and puntive taxes penalties on internal combustion engines. Unfortunately the left doesn't agree with live and let live...
doire aintu
doire aintu 5 days ago
Electricity is for toasters, not cars. Never give in to the madness! Long live internal combustion!
Derren Pillay
Derren Pillay 5 days ago
Chris Harris is the best
2112 Bangkok
2112 Bangkok 5 days ago
I'd love to see an oil analysis after that break-in and track drive. Chris, I love your skills and insight but please demonstrate those skills more professionally and stay off the bloody candy stripes on track! Sheesh!
Ricky Boada
Ricky Boada 5 days ago
Been watching Chris for 10+ years now.... best journalist, never dissapoints
PaPaN0ff
PaPaN0ff 5 days ago
Such a beautiful car
MOONPOWER AUTOWORK
Man that transition @ 13:50 was top notch! I love how Chris can articulate all of the feelings and aspects of a car while running it flat out.
ohroonoko
ohroonoko 5 days ago
Can someone please tell me what exactly Chris Harris says at 18:10 about “black wheels should, of course, be banned from any kind of BLAH BLAH BLAH because they end up disappearing.” I really don’t understand the words he said there.
ben wood
ben wood 5 days ago
Only car journalist that I'll tune in for instead of the car
Chau Nguyen
Chau Nguyen 5 days ago
it's a bit overweight and overpriced
Greatwhiteshark
Greatwhiteshark 5 days ago
No one could ever keep up with you Chris, if it's 911.
JP3
JP3 5 days ago
pinstripes on wheels should be a crime amazing car tho
Liam Santiago
Liam Santiago 5 days ago
when GME & AMC go to the moon, I shall sign myself up for one.
Carlos Miguel
Carlos Miguel 5 days ago
C'mon they didn't change the oil/filter after the run in? That should've been done...
Quick Expert Reviews
Looks up prices of used GT3s. Yup still out of my price range.
StinkyTofu
StinkyTofu 6 days ago
Chris Harris needs to move on to other things. His reviews are all the same.
Jeffrey Treleaven
Electricity is for toasters, not cars. Never give in to the madness! Long live internal combustion!
beno069
beno069 6 days ago
Quick beetle that
Your Mother should of swallowed
Technology always trickle down from F1 and Aeronautical. That trickle takes decades for refinement for durability and reliability. Currently electric vehicles require extremely expensive, hazardous and short shelf life cells. I know the political narrative is pushing electric so everyone just accepts it because they're afraid of cancel culture. Combustion engines won't be going anywhere, hybrid technology is the only path consumers would accept in the masses. Until a new technology that doesn't require a rare earth material that's not readily available, hazardous to develop. Electric is a city commute feel good idea, no more no less. When a Tesla can go from New York to California in a 24hr period, maybe I'll change my mind. Until then, don't be such a sheep. #PoliticalScienceHoax
Gordon Gekko
Gordon Gekko 6 days ago
I hate how the seatbelt is folded.
Gordon Gekko
Gordon Gekko 6 days ago
He’s such a funny midget
oplix
oplix 6 days ago
I really don't understand why Chris Harris has to review a non manual GT3. It's atrocious. It's like okay everyone else is reviewing dual clutch GT3s but they are just automotive journalists. Surely Chris Harris will get to review a manual since he puts work on the track. Nope.
OMGWTFLOL
OMGWTFLOL 6 days ago
Finally, someone who agrees with me that black wheels are one of the dumbest things ever created for a car. I'd order this without the idiot wing too.
Ghost83
Ghost83 6 days ago
This is how you need to be on top gear! This is you back to your best rather than playing a character on tv! Also what a shame we are coming to the end of internal combustion we need to do more to stop the stupid electric revolution
Human Being
Human Being 6 days ago
Top gear was a car show now
Next